Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Tourism Call Centre E-Tools Facebook Twitter
New SA Tourism chairperson
Minister Derek Hanekom
Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, has appointed Zwelibanzi Mntambo as the new Chairperson of the South African Tourism board with immediate effect. This follows the resignation of the former chairperson, Frank Kilbourn, last week.

“I am very pleased to have Zweli as the new leader of the board. His vast experience in the tourism industry coupled with his strategic leadership and management skills will certainly ensure that SA Tourism achieves its mandate,” said Hanekom.

“Tourism is a very important sector in our economy and as we put all our efforts in ensuring that we achieve the goals as set out in the National Development Plan (NDP), we need a capable leader who is innovative and results driven. I know that in Zweli, the board has all these qualities and that he will guide the organisation in better serving the industry and ensuring that this sector continues to grow,” he said.
Mntambo will lead the following SA Tourism Board members, who were appointed for a period of three years, commencing on June 1, 2012: These include Siza Mzimela, Executive Chairperson, Blue Crane Aviation; Kananelo Makhetha, MD of Connex Travel: Tumi Makgabo, Executive Producer of Tumi &Co, a Broadcast and Media Production Company, and Graham Wood, Deputy Chairperson of the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA).

Tourism Update