Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Tourism Call Centre E-Tools Facebook Twitter
NDT to administer Tourism Support Programme (TSP)
NDT to administer Tourism Support Programme (TSP)
The National Department of Tourism (NDT) will be administrating the Tourism Support Programme (TSP) as from the next financial year (April 2013). The Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies, recently announced the termination of the administration of the Tourism support Programme (TSP) with effect from 1 October 2012. The decision to transfer the administration of the TSP from the dti to the National Department of Tourism (NDT) was taken by Cabinet and is in line with the industrial Policy Action Plan.

“The decision was taken early this year and is outlined in the
Industrial Policy Action plan 2011/12 – 2013/14 to transfer the tourism policy work and consequently the tourism incentive administered to the National Department of Tourism. This means that the National Department of Tourism will in
future also develop and implement an incentive that is better aligned with the current strategic priorities of the tourism sector,” said Davies.

The Programme is currently under review to ensure its focus is
aligned to the National Tourism Sector Strategy. The National Department of Tourism will reopen for submissions in the new financial year, with a programme more responsive to the current and future development needs of the tourism  sector.

Applicants whose project proposals were approved, those with outstanding claims and those that were received prior to the transfer date of October 01 2012 will not be affected. Notice was issued to the industry timeously and a sufficient budget was retained within the dti to finalise all claims relating to approved applications. Applicants who wish to enquire about the status of their applications can contact Ms. Francisca Strauss at the dti.
For enquiries:

National Department of Tourism (NDT):

Mr. Trevor Bloem – NDT spokesperson
Chief Director: Communications
Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6607
Department of Trade and Industry (the dti)
Ms Francisca Strauss – dti Spokesperson
Chief Director: Manufacturing Cluster
Telephone: +27 (0)  12 394 1259