Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
South African Tourism Call Centre E-Tools Facebook Twitter
Tourism Minister welcomes new board
Tourism Minister welcomes new board
Tourism Minister Derek Hanekom has congratulated and welcomed members of the newly appointed Board of South African Tourism.

South African Tourism is the Department of Tourism’s entity responsible for marketing South Africa to international and domestic tourists.

The appointment of the Board was confirmed by Cabinet yesterday. It will be chaired by Mr Monwabisi Fandeso, who is the former Chairperson of the Tourism Charter Council which developed the Amended Tourism B-BBEE Sector Code aimed at accelerating transformation.

Dr Tanya Abrahamse has been reappointed to the Board and will serve as the Deputy Chairperson. Other members who were reappointed include Mr Thebeetsile Ikalafeng, Mr Enver Duminy, Ms Michelle Constant, and Mr Abba Omar Jacoob.

New members are Ms Lindiwe Sangweni-Siddo, Ms Pamela Yako, Ms Kate Rivett-Carnac, Ms Dawn Robertson, Mr Ravi Nadasen, and Mr Mohamed Baba.

The Department of Tourism will be represented by Ms Nomzamo Bhengu.

“The new Board represents a good mix of re-appointed members who will ensure sufficient continuity, and new members who will inject fresh insights,” said Minister Hanekom. “The Board has the wide range of knowledge and experience that is needed to sustain and enhance our current growth path, and to develop tourism inclusively into the future.

“The work of South African Tourism is central to growing tourism. Tourism is increasingly being recognised as an important driver of economic growth, because it has such a positive impact on so many other sectors. The Board’s oversight of South African Tourism is therefore critical for the future of tourism, and for the growth of our overall economy.

“I thank the outgoing Chairperson and Board for providing guidance and direction to our marketing agency. I am confident the new Board will continue in the same vein and take tourism to even greater heights,” said Minister Hanekom. 

The new Board’s term of appointment is from 1 June 2018 to 31 May 2021.


Mr Praveen Naidoo - Ministry of Tourism
Cell: +27 (0) 71 677 5004