Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
banner_website
About Ministry

​​​

 Ministry

On 25 May 2014, the President of South Africa, the Honourable Jacob Zuma announced members of the National Executive. The announcement included the appointment of the Minister of Tourism, the Honourable Mr Derek Hanekom and the Deputy Minister of Tourism, the Honourable Ms Tokozile Xasa.  The core mandate of the Department of Touris​m is to create conditions for the sustainable growth and development of tourism in South Africa.

Minister
Derek Hanekom

Minister Derek Hanekom
Minister Profile 

Deputy Minister
Tokozile Xasa

Deputy Minister Tokozile Xasa Deputy Minister Profile​

 

 Office of the Minister

Head of Ministry/Chief of Staff: Ms Nurunessa Moolla

Pretoria:

Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6773
Fax: +27 (0) 12 444 7027

Cape Town:
Telephone: +27 (0) 21 465 7240
Fax: +27 (0) 21 465 3216
Email: nmoolla@tourism.gov.za



Director Administration: Mr Sharief Starke


Pretoria:
Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6771
Fax: +27 (0) 12 444 7027
Email: sstarke@tourism.gov.za

 
Acting Private Secretary to the Minister of Tourism: Ms Tshegofatso Masoga

Pretoria:
Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6776
Fax: +27 (0) 12 444 7027

Cape Town:
Telephone: +27 (0) 21 465 7240
Fax: +27 (0) 21 465 3216
Email: tmasoga@tourism.gov.za​



Media Liaison Officer: Mr Praveen Naidoo


Pretoria:
Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6780​
Cell: +27 (0) 71 677 5004
Email: pnaidoo@tourism.gov.za

Parliamentary Liaison Officer: Ms Melanie Titus


Cape Town:
Telephone: +27 (0) 21 469 5805
Fax: +27 (0) 21 465 3216 
Email: mtitus@tourism.gov.za

 Office of the Deputy Minister

Director: Office of the Deputy Minister: Nonzwakazi Sifanele

Pretoria:

Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6757
Fax: +27 (0) 12 444 7027
Email: nsifanele@tourism.gov.za​


PA to Deputy Minister: Vacant


 
Pretoria:
Telephone: +27 (0) 12 444 6757
Fax: +27 (0) 12 444 7027​/8