

## Media Statement

Appointment of the Tourism Broad Based Black Economic Empowerment (B-BBEE) Charter Council members

Minister of Tourism, Mr Marthinus van Schalkwyk, has announced the appointment of the new members of Tourism B-BBEE Charter Council. In May 2009, the tourism sector charter was gazetted as a section 9 (1) sector charter, of the Broad Based Black Economic Empowerment Act No. 53 of 2003, by the Minister of the Department of Trade and Industry (The dti) giving it the same legal status as the dti B-BBEE Codes of Good Practice. The Tourism Charter expresses the wish by the public and private sector to embrace the transformation agenda as informed by the Act. As a gazetted charter, the tourism sector was required to have a Charter Council consisting of industry representatives from the public and private sectors, labour and small business across the tourism spectrum as expressed in the gazetted Tourism B-BBEE Charter.

"I am pleased with the appointment of a diverse and capable team to serve on the Council, and hope that all stakeholders, including businesses, the general public and associations in the tourism sector will use the Council as a platform to raise issues affecting them on the implementation of the Tourism Sector B-BBEE Scorecard, sharing best practice models that places the sector in the forefront of transformation in South Africa", said the Minister.

The Charter Council will fulfill the following roles:

- Provide guidance on sector-specific matters effecting B-BBEE in entities within the sector
- Compile reports on the status of broad-based black economic empowerment within the sector for the Minister and the BEE Advisory Council
- Share information with sector members, approved accreditation agencies and the Minister pertaining to B-BBEE in the sector.

The following Charter Council members have been appointed for a period of three (3) years, commencing on 01 October 2012:

- 1. Mr. Monwabisi Peter Fandeso: Chairman of Beige Holdings Limited and former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Thebe Tourism Group Chairperson of the Charter Council.
- 2. Mr Moeketsi Mosola: Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Imperial Group's Tourism Division comprising of Springbok Atlas, Grosvenor Tours, Eastgate Safaris and Imperial Chauffeur Drive.
- 3. Mr. Eddy Rhulani Arnold Khosa: Founder and Chief Executive of the Magelevendze Investments and former member Tourism Empowerment Council of South Africa (TECSA).
- 4. Ms. Lindiwe Sangweni-Sido: Co-owner and founder member of the Freedom Square Hotel (Pty) Ltd and Managing Director of the Birchwood Hotel.
- Mr. Sipho Zikode: Deputy Director General for Empowerment and Enterprise Development, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Mr. Victor Tharage: Deputy Director General for Policy and Knowledge Services, National Department of Tourism.
- Mr. Shoni Makhari: Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Flow Public Relations & Reputation Management.
- 8. Mr. Dhrupal Amin: Group Commercial Executive at Tsogo Sun Group.
- 9. Mrs. Bunny Bhoola: Owner of African Link Tours and Travel and SATSA executive committee member.
- 10. Mr. Titus Baloyi Chief Executive Officer of Bembani Sustainability Training (Pty) Ltd.
- 11. Mr. Michael Tatalias: Chief Executive Officer of Southern Africa Tourism Services Association (SATSA) and a board member of the Tourism Business Council of South Africa (TBCSA).

- 12. Mr. Bheki Ntshalintshali: Deputy General Secretary of the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU).
- 13. Ms. Robyn Christie: Former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Association of South African Travel Agents (ASATA).
- 14. Ms. Heather Prinsloo: Managing Director of Ibhaso Consulting and former Divisional Director: Transformation for the City Lodge Hotel Group.

## **Enquiries:**

Melene Rossouw Media Liaison Officer Telephone: +27 (0) 21 465 7240

Cell: +27 (0) 82 753 7107

E-mail: <u>mrossouw@tourism.gov.za</u>

Issued by the Ministry of Tourism