

Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001, South Africa. Tel. (+27 12) 444 6780, Fax (+27 12) 444 7027 Private Bag X9154, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa. Tel. (+27 21) 469 5800, Fax: (+27 21) 465 3216

### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY:**

#### **QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY:**

**Question Number: 425** 

Date of Publication: 13 March 2020

NA IQP Number: 9

Date of reply: 15 May 2020

### Mr M S F de Freitas (DA) to ask the Minister of Tourism:

- (1) With reference to Board members of SA Tourism, (a) what other employment does each Board member have outside of SA Tourism, (b) how was each Board member vetted, (c) why was each Board member appointed in each case and (d) what remuneration does each Board member get in each month;
- (2) with reference to Board members of SA Tourism in the past three financial years, (a)(i) which Board members were appointed in each specified financial year and (ii) when was each specified Board member appointed and (b)(i) which Board members resigned in each financial year, (ii) when did each specified Board member resign and (iii) what reasons were cited for resignations in each case? (NW605)

# Reply:

### 1. Board Members of SAT

Board Member Name	(a) What other employment does each Board Member have outside SA Tourism	(b) How was each Board member vetted?	(c ) Why was each Board Member appointed in each case	(c)What Remuneration does each Board member get in each month?
Mr Ravi Nadasen	Chief Operations Officer: Tsogo Sun	Board members are vetted through a verification of candidates' identification,	Human resource and hospitality sector experience.	There is no monthly remuneration for members of the Board. Board
Mr Thebeetsile Ikalafeng	Managing Director: Brand Leadership	criminal record, ITC and qualification checks.	Marketing and branding expertise.	members are remunerated at an hourly rate per meeting. The current hourly
Mr Enver Duminy	Chief Executive Officer: Cape Town Tourism	The Board has undergone security screening.	Tourism marketing expertise.	rate is R540.00 for Chairperson and R327 for
Ms Michelle Julie Constant	Independent Consultant		Arts and culture experience.	members.
Dr Abba Omar Jacoob	Senior General Manager: Strategy & Communications		International relations experience.	
Ms Kate Rivett-Carnac	Independent Consultant		Research and tourism experience.	
Ms Dawn Elizabeth Robertson	CEO: Constitution Hill		Arts, culture and tourism marketing.	
Ms Lindiwe Sangweni	Chief Operations Officer: City Lodge Hotel Group		Tourism industry and hospitality sector experience.	
Mr Siyabonga Dube,	Independent Consultant: Chartered Accountant		Governance, public sector Finance and Auditing experience.	
Ms Zola Tshefu	Founder & Executive Director: LiLiBo Investments (Pty) Ltd		Tourism and public sector governance experience.	There is no remuneration for Departmental representative

Board Member Name	(a) What other employment does each Board Member have outside SA Tourism	(b) How was each Board member vetted?	(c ) Why was each Board Member appointed in each case	(c)What Remuneration does each Board member get in each month?
Ms Nomzamo Bhengu – Departmental representative	Chief Director: Strategy & Systems: Department of Tourism		Governance and administration.	

<sup>1(</sup>c) Board members are appointed on the basis of their knowledge, experience or qualifications relating to the functions of the Board.

## 2. SAT Board Members past three financial years

Financial Year	(a)(i)Which Board Members were appointed in each financial year?	a(ii) When was each specified Board Member appointed?	
2020/21	Ms. Gloria Serobe	29 April 2020	
	Adv. Mojankunyane Gumbi	29 April 2020	
2019/20	Ms. Zola Baba Tshefu	11 August 2019	
	Mr. Siyabonga Dube	11 August 2019	
2018/19	Mr. David Frost	01 March 2019	
2017/18	Mr. Monwabisi Fandeso	01 June 2018	
	Ms. Pamela Bulelwa Yako	01 June 2018	
	Dr. Tanya Ethel Abrahamse	01 June 2018	
	Mr. Aloysius Thebetsile Ikalafeng	01 June 2012	
		01 June 2015	
		01 June 2018	
	Ms. Michelle Julie Constant	01 June 2015	
		01 June 2018	
	Mr. Enver Duminy	26 August 2016	
		01 June 2018	

Financial Year	(a)(i)Which Board Members were appointed in each financial year?	a(ii) When was each specified Board Member appointed?
	Mr. Yacoob Abba Omar	21 November 2015 01 June 2018
	Ms. Dawn Elizabeth Robertson	01 June 2018
	Ms. Kathleen Elizabeth Rivett-Carnac	01 June 2018
	Ms. Lindiwe Sangweni -Siddo	01 June 2018
	Mr. Ravi Nadasen	01 June 2018
	Mr. Mohamed Baba	01 June 2018
	Ms. Nomzamo Bhengu	01 June 2018
	(Departmental representative)	

Financial Year	b (i)Which Board Members resigned in each financial year	b.(ii) When did each specified Board Member resign?	b.(iii) What reasons were cited for resignations in each case?
2019/20	Ms. Pamela Yako	04 September 2019	Stepped down as Board Chairperson, and subsequently
			stopped participation, as a result Board membership
			also lapsed
	Dr. Tanya Abrahamse	03 September 2019	Other commitments
	Mr. Mohamed Baba	25 June 2019	Other commitments
	Mr. David Frost	29 July 2019	Other commitments
2018/19	Mr. Monwabisi Fandeso	14 August 2018	Other commitments.
2017/18	None.	None.	None.