

## MINISTRY OF TOURISM REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001, South Africa. Tel. (+27 12) 444 6780, Fax (+27 12) 444 7027 Private Bag X9154, Cape Town, 8000, South Africa. Tel. (+27 21) 469 5800, Fax: (+27 21) 465 3216

## **EXTENSION OF CLOSING DATE**

## NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS NON-EXECUTIVE MEMBERS OF THE SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM BOARD

The Minister of Tourism, Mr Derek Hanekom, hereby extends the closing date for nomination of candidates to serve as non-executive members of the South African Tourism Board to **04 February 2015.** 

Nominations are to be sent for the attention of Ms Nomzamo Bhengu - Chief Director: Governance Support, Department of Tourism, by post to Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001 or hand delivered to Department of Tourism, Tourism House, 17 Trevenna Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria. 0001. Enquiries may be directed to Mr. Armstrong Manganye on 012 444 6746 or send by email to amanganye@tourism.gov.za.





## INVITATION TO NOMINATE CANDIDATES TO SERVE AS NON-EXECUTIVE MEMBERS OF SOUTH AFRICAN TOURISM BOARD

South African Tourism Board is a public entity established under the repealed Tourism Act, No. 72 of 1993 and continues to exist as a juristic person in terms of section 9 of the Tourism Act, No. 3 of 2014 (the Act). The primary mandate of South African Tourism Board includes marketing South Africa as a domestic and international tourist destination; and marketing South African tourism products and facilities domestically and internationally.

The mandate must be managed by a Board consisting of at least nine and not more than thirteen (13) non-executive members appointed by the Minister, for a three year term, on the basis of their knowledge, experience and qualifications relating to the functions of South African Tourism.

In terms of section 15 of the Act a person may not be appointed as a member of the Board if that person -

- (a) is not a South African citizen and ordinarily resident in the Republic;
- (b) is an un-rehabilitated insolvent:
- (c) is disqualified under any law from practising that person's profession;
- (d) has been convicted of an offence in the Republic, other than an offence committed prior to 27 April 1994 associated with political objectives, and sentenced to imprisonment without the option of a fine or, in the case of fraud or any other offence involving dishonesty, to a fine or imprisonment or both;
- (e) subject to subsection (2), has been convicted of an offence in a foreign country and sentenced to imprisonment without the option of a fine or, in the case of fraud or any other offence involving dishonesty, to a fine or imprisonment or both; or
- (f) has at any time been removed from an office of trust on account of breach of a fiduciary duty.

In terms of section 13(3)(a) of the Act, the Minister of Tourism, Mr Derek Hanekom, hereby invites nomination of suitable candidates to be considered for appointment to serve as non-executive members of the South African Tourism Board for a three year term that is envisaged to be effective from 01 June 2015.

Nomination of candidates must be in writing and contains the following details:

- 1. Full names and address of the persons or organisation nominating a candidate;
- 2. A curriculum vitae of a nominee candidate, which must include:-
  - full names, identity number, race and gender;
  - contact address; including telephone, fax, postal and email address;
  - areas of expertise of a candidate;
  - current and previous positions;
  - current and previous Board/Council service;
  - certified copies of SAQA recognised qualifications; and
  - At least two names and contact details of references.
- 3. A signed acceptance of nomination by a nominee candidate; and
- 4. A duly completed and commissioned Disclosure of Interest forms available on the National Department of Tourism website: <a href="http://www.tourism.gov.za">http://www.tourism.gov.za</a> or on request from amanganye@tourism.gov.za.

Strict compliance with the nomination requirements is essential.

Nominations must be posted to the attention of Ms Nomzamo Bhengu - Chief Director: Governance Support, Department of Tourism, Private Bag X424, Pretoria, 0001 or hand delivered to Tourism House, 17 Trevenna Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria, on or before **04 February 2015**. Enquiries may be directed to Mr Armstrong Manganye on 012 444 6746 / <a href="manganye@tourism.gov.za"><u>amanganye@tourism.gov.za</u></a>.